Menu
My burn-out
My burn-out

What are the hormones of stress?

What are the hormones of stress?

For our survival, the body sets up stress mechanisms which are a set of reactions our body resorts to when faced with a threatening or new situation. The stress perceived by our brain then triggers safeguard reactions with the production of hormones. It is this “function” that has enabled us to survive over the millennia by escaping dangers and then gradually adapting to new environments, changes and evolution.

Stressors today are different from those experienced by prehistoric man. Nowadays a reaction of stress is rarely triggered by an encounter with a wild beast (though it may happen too…) but by social and / or professional situations which are more or less felt as stressful agents: a verbal threat, an exam, a competition, financial problems, family problems, an accident, noise, etc. The threats or stimuli have changed but our basic reactions remain the same, we produce exactly the same hormones whatever the stress.

The effects of stress on our brain

Faced with stimuli, our whole organism urges the brain, body and organs to mobilize everything it needs to respond to the threat.

The stimuli first reach the areas of the brain involved in the management of emotions, namely the amygdala, then the hippocampus and the prefrontal cortex.

The amygdala

The amygdala is the part of our brain that is close to the hippocampus. It is the entry route for information received by our five senses and it will guide our reactions. It has many functions.

  • It therefore plays an important role in the functions relating to decision-making, pleasure, memory.
  • The amygdala allows the detection and processing of emotional information; it enables us to feel our own emotions but also perceive those of others. Whether positive or negative, the amygdala will then identify the emotions concerned and associate them with behavioral and physiological responses. The amygdala functions like the “alarm” system of our body.

Under stress, the amygdala increases significantly in size. This dysfunction has important consequences such as irritability, hypervigilance or agitation linked to a state of anxiety.

The hippocampus

The hippocampus is a brain structure that participates in essential functions such as regulating the mood, acquiring knowledge, memory, concentration, and more generally it helps the individual adapt to his environment.

Much neuroscience work shows that exposure to chronic stress affects the hippocampus. Indeed, it seems that the longer the episodes of stress, the more the hippocampus decreases, which can lead to memory problems.

The prefrontal cortex

It is a brain structure located behind the forehead, and the center of decision-making, the key that regulates our composure. Unlike the amygdala and the hippocampus which belong to the limbic system and which dominate our behavior which is related to our emotions, the prefrontal cortex is in charge of our capacity of adaptation. It is the seat of intelligence, of initiative, of decision-making.

Some specific research has shown that in people under chronic stress the volume of gray matter, present in particular in the prefrontal cortex, tends to decrease. A decrease in blood flow and glucose metabolism at the prefrontal level has also been observed in persons subject to chronic stress. This can lead to inability to control emotions, make decisions, or adapt their attitudes to suit various situations.

All of these stimuli will then release several hormones and neurotransmitters.

Neurotransmitters and hormones involved in stress

  • A hormone is a chemical molecule produced by a specific gland or tissue, which travels through the bloodstream and acts at a distance to ensure the transmission of messages between organs.
  • Neurotransmitters are hormonal chemical signals that relay signals from one area of ​​the brain to another. They therefore transmit the nerve impulse (the potential for action) between neurons. There are inhibitory or excitatory neurotransmitters.

The neurotransmitter GABA is an inhibitor that regulates anxiety by decreasing the activity of the neurons on which it binds. It is the main inhibitory neurotransmitter in the nervous system.

Other neurotransmitters also act on the alarm system:

  • serotonin regulates temperature, sleep, mood, appetite and pain
  • glutamate is a memory stimulant
  • noradrenaline activates attention, emotions, dreams, sleep or even learning
  • acetylcholine is involved in wakefulness, attention, anger, aggression, sexuality and thirst. It triggers muscle contraction and stimulates the secretion of hormones
  • dopamine, involved in the control of movement and posture, also regulates the mood

Behind the wide range of physical and mental responses to stress are a number of hormones.

  • noradrenaline, the precursor to adrenaline, is released by the adrenal glands into the bloodstream after receiving a message from the brain that a stressful situation has arisen. It promotes the contraction of blood vessels and therefore helps to increase blood pressure and heart rate. It allows us to react to a dangerous situation and also focus all our attention on it.
  • cortisol, secreted by the adrenal glands, regulates blood pressure, heart and immune function, and provides the brain with sufficient energy to prepare it for stress. This hormone is released shortly after adrenaline.
  • adrenocorticotrophin (ACTH) is secreted by the pituitary gland, which is active under the influence of a hormone released by the hypothalamus. ACTH then circulates in the blood and causes the release of cortisol in the adrenal glands.
  • oxytocin, the hormone of social bond and attachment, regulator of anxiety, is produced mainly by the hypothalamus (it also plays a neurotransmitter role) and passes into the blood at the level of the pituitary gland to be distributed to organs.
  • the antidiuretic hormone vasopressin, increases water permeability and therefore decreases the volume of urine, regulates blood pressure as a vasoconstrictor, plays a role in anxiety.

The adaptation reaction to a stressful situation

The role of these neurotransmitters and hormones is to enable the body to free up the necessary resources in the face of the perceived threat. This biological reaction takes place through several stages.

  • 1.The shock stage. During this stage, all our senses are mobilized and send to the brain all that is perceived. During this stage, can be spotted certain physical manifestations such as goosebumps, a knotted stomach, shaking, sweating, or even feeling dizzy.
  • 2. The energy mobilization stage. Our sympathetic nervous system is activated. The body takes action to flee or fight. The adrenal glands release adrenaline and cortisol, which results in almost immediate physiological changes:
  • Respiratory: increase in frequency to provide more oxygen.
  • Muscle: increased oxygenation and therefore energy to run faster or hit harder, muscle tension.
  • Cardiac: increased rate, to deliver more oxygen.
  • Cutaneous: hairs that stand on end, red cheeks, vasoconstriction to reduce bleeding, sweat is produced to cool the body.
  • Blood: reduced clotting time to decrease bleeding, increased blood sugar to increase energy intake. Dilation of the blood vessels to supply more blood to large muscle groups. The liver releases stored glucose to increase the amount of energy.
  • Cerebral: hyper-oxygenation to increase our level of vigilance.
  • Pupils dilate to improve vision.
  • 3. The stage of consumption of energy reserves. If the stress continues, the body begins to use existing energy stores, releasing it as an extra boost with the release of more sugar for the brain and fat for the muscles.

Cortisol is mainly produced during this stage. In addition to the extra discharge of energy, cortisol alleviates the pain and gives the person the ability to continue to fight or flee.

  • 4. The stage of draining energy reserves. When your body has been exposed to large doses of stress, it has been able to respond to it by producing many hormones. Not all of them are good for your body and therefore they must be evacuated. This is mainly the case with Cortisol. It’s time to activate the other part of our nervous system, the parasympathetic system, that of rest and recovery.
Véronique About

Véronique

An entrepreneur and sophrologist, I graduated from CEAS in Paris and from the Sophrology Academy in Ashford, which is a member of FEPS (the Federation of Sophrology Centers), I specialized in issues of stress and burn-out. Do not hesitate to contact me, for any questions or request for support in sophrology.

Menu
My burn-out
My burn-out

Quelles sont les hormones du stress?

Les hormones du stress

Le stress, un mécanisme de protection

Pour notre survie, le corps met en place des mécanismes de stress qui sont un ensemble de réactions de notre organisme face à une situation menaçante ou nouvelle. Le stress perçu par notre cerveau déclenche alors des réactions de sauvegarde avec la production d’hormones. C’est cette « fonction » ce qui nous a permis de survivre au fil des millénaires en échappant aux dangers puis  progressivement à s’adapter aux nouveaux environnements, aux changements et à l’évolution.

Aujourd’hui, les agents stressants sont différents de ceux qu’a connu l’homme préhistorique. Nous rencontrons moins de  bête sauvage (quoique…) pour enclencher notre réaction, mais des situations sociales et/ou professionnelles plus ou moins ressenties comme agents stressants : une menace verbale, un examen, une compétition, des problèmes financiers, familiaux, un accident, du bruit, etc. Les menaces ou stimuli ont changé mais nos réactions de base restent les mêmes, nous produisons exactement les mêmes hormones face à un stress, quel qu’il soit.

Les effets du stress sur notre cerveau

Face aux stimuli, l’ensemble de notre organisme mobilise le cerveau, le corps, les organes pour mobiliser tout ce dont il a besoin pour répondre à la menace.  

Les stimuli atteignent en premier lieu les aires du cerveau impliquées dans la gestion des émotions, à savoir l’amygdale, puis l’hippocampe et le cortex préfrontal.

L’amygdale

L’amygdale, est la partie de notre cerveau proche de l’hippocampe. Elle est la voie d’entrée des informations reçues par nos cinq sens et celle qui va guider nos réactions.  Elle a de nombreuses fonctions.

– Elle joue donc un rôle important dans les fonctions relatives à la prise de décision, au plaisir, à la mémoire. 

– L’amygdale permet la détection et le traitement des informations émotionnelles;  ressentir nos propres émotions mais également percevoir celles des autres. Qu’elles soient positives ou négatives l’amygdale va alors les identifier et y associer des réponses comportementales et physiologiques. Elle est un peu la fonction “alarme” de notre corps. 

En cas de stress, il semblerait que l’amygdale augmente significativement de volume. Ce dysfonctionnement a des conséquences importantes telles qu’une irritabilité, une hypervigilance ou encore une agitation liée à un état d’anxiété

L’hippocampe

L’hippocampe est une structure cérébrale qui  participe à des fonctions essentielles comme la régulation de l’humeurl’acquisition des connaissances, la mémoire, la concentration et plus globalement à l’adaptation de l’individu à son environnement. 

De nombreux travaux de neurosciences montrent qu’une exposition à un stress chronique affecte l’hippocampe. En effet, il semblerait que plus les épisodes de stress durent, plus l’hippocampe diminue ce qui peut amener des  troubles de la mémoire. 

Le cortex préfrontal

Structure cérébrale située derrière le front, est le centre de la prise de décision, la clé qui régule notre sang-froid. A l’inverse de l’amygdale et de l’hippocampe qui appartiennent au système limbique et qui dominent notre comportement lié aux émotions, le cortex préfrontal est en charge de notre capacité d’adaptation. C’est le cerveau de l’intelligence, de l’esprit d’initiative, de la prise de décision. 

Lors de recherches, il a été constaté que des personnes soumises à un stress chronique voient une diminution de volume de la substance grise, présente notamment dans le cortex préfrontal. Il a été également constaté une diminution du flux sanguin et du métabolisme du glucose au niveau préfrontal. Cela peut entraîner des incapacités à contrôler des émotions, à prendre des décisions, ou à adapter leurs attitudes en fonction de diverses situations. 

L’ensemble de ses stimulations vont alors libérer plusieurs hormones et neurotransmetteurs.

Les neurotransmetteurs et hormones impliqués dans le stress

  • Une hormone est une molécule chimique produite par une glande ou un tissu spécifique, qui circule par la voie sanguine et agit à distance pour assurer la transmission de messages entre les organes.
  • Un neurotransmetteur est un signal chimique hormonal qui relaie les signaux d’une aire du cerveau à une autre. Ils transmettent donc l’influx nerveux (le potentiel d’action) entre neurones. Il existe des neurotransmetteurs inhibiteurs ou excitateurs.

Le neurotransmetteur GABA est un inhibiteur qui régule l’anxiété en diminuant l’activité des neurones sur lequel il se fixe. Il est le principal neurotransmetteur inhibiteur du système nerveux. 

D’autres neurotransmetteurs agissent aussi sur le système d’alarme :

  • la sérotonine  régule la température, le sommeil, l’humeur, l’appétit et la douleur ;
  • le glutamate est un stimulant associé à la mémoire ;
  • la noradrénaline, active l’attention, les émotions, le rêve, le sommeil ou encore l’apprentissage ;
  • l’acétylcholine est impliquée dans l’éveil, l’attention, la colère, l’agression, la sexualité et la soif. Elle déclenche la contraction musculaire et stimule la sécrétion d’hormones ;
  • la dopamine, impliquée dans le contrôle du mouvement et de la posture, régulant aussi l’humeur.

Derrière le large éventail de réactions physiques et mentales au stress, on retrouver un certain nombre d’hormones. 

  • la noradrénaline, précurseur de l’adrénaline, est libérée par les glandes surrénales dans la circulation sanguine après avoir reçu un message du cerveau qu’une situation stressante s’est présentée.  Elle favorise la contraction des vaisseaux sanguins et contribue donc à augmenter la pression artérielle et la fréquence cardiaque ; Elle permet de réagir à une situation dangereuse  et concentre également toute notre attention.
  • le cortisol, sécrété par les glandes surrénales régule la tension artérielle, les fonctions cardiaques et immunitaires, et fournit au cerveau l’énergie suffisante pour le préparer face au stress ; Cette hormone est libérée un peu après l’adrénaline.
  • l’adrénocorticotrophine (ACTH) est sécrétée par l’hypophyse, elle-même active sous l’influence d’une hormone libérée par l’hypothalamus. L’ACTH circule alors dans le sang et provoque la libération de cortisol au niveau des glandes surrénales ;
  • l’ocytocine, hormone du lien social et de l’attachement, régulateur de l’anxiété, est produite principalement par l’hypothalamus (elle y joue aussi un rôle de neurotransmetteur) et passe dans le sang au niveau de l’hypophyse pour être distribuée vers les organes ;
  • la vasopressine hormone antidiurétique, augmente la perméabilité à l’eau et diminue donc le volume des urines, régule la pression sanguine en tant que vasoconstricteur, joue un rôle dans l’anxiété.

La réaction d’adaptation face à une situation de stress

Le rôle de ces neurotransmetteurs et de ces hormones est de permettre à l’organisme de libérer les ressources nécessaires face à la menace perçue. Cette réaction biologique se traduit à travers plusieurs étapes. 

  1. L’étape du choc. Lors de cette étape tous nos sens sont mobilisés envoyant au cerveau tout ce qui est perçu.  Lors de cette étape, on peut repérer certaines manifestations physiques comme la chair de poule, l’estomac noué, des tremblements, des sueurs, une transpiration voire un malaise. 
  2. L’étape de la mobilisation de l’énergie. Notre système nerveux sympathique est activé. Le corps se met en action pour fuir ou se battre. Les glandes surrénales libèrent de l’adrénaline et du cortisol, ce qui donne lieu à des changements physiologiques quasi immédiats comme: 
  • Respiratoires: Augmentation de la fréquence pour apporter plus d’oxygène.
  • Musculaires: Augmentation de l’oxygénation et donc du tonus pour courir plus vite ou frapper plus fort, tensions musculaires.
  • Cardiaques: Augmentation de la fréquence, pour distribuer plus d’oxygène.
  • Cutanées: Les poils qui se dressent, joues rouges, vasoconstriction pour diminuer les saignements, De la sueur est produite pour rafraîchir le corps. 
  • Sanguines: Baisse du temps de coagulation pour diminuer les saignements, augmentation de la glycémie pour augmenter l’apport d’énergie. Dilatation des vaisseaux sanguins pour apporter une plus grande quantité de sang aux grands groupes musculaires. Le foie libère le glucose emmagasiné pour augmenter la quantité d’énergie
  • Cérébrales: Hyper-oxygénation pour augmenter notre niveau de vigilance. 
  • Les pupilles se dilatent pour améliorer la vision
  1. L’étape de la consommation des réserves d’énergie.  Si le stress se poursuit, le corps commence à utiliser les réserves d’énergie existantes en libérant comme un extra boost avec la libération de plus de sucre pour le cerveau et du gras pour les muscles.  

Le cortisol est surtout produit durant cette étape. Il va permettre en plus de cette décharge supplémentaire d’énergie d’atténuer la douleur pour donner à la personne la capacité de continuer à se battre ou à fuir.

  1. L’étape du drainage des réserves d’énergie. Lorsque votre corps a été exposé à de fortes doses de stress, il a été dans la capacité d’y répondre en produisant de nombreuses hormones. Hors toutes ne sont pas bonnes pour le corps et doivent donc être évacuées. C’est principalement le cas du Cortisol.  Il est temps d’activer l’autre partie de notre système nerveux, le système parasympathique, celui du repos et de la récupération. 

Véronique About

Véronique

Entrepreneur et sophrologue diplômée du CEAS à Paris et de la Sophrology Academy à Ashford, membre de la FEPS, je me suis spécialisée sur les problématiques de stress et de burn-out. N'hésitez pas à me contacter, pour toutes questions ou demande d'accompagnement en sophrologie.