Menu
My burn-out
My burn-out

The three degrees in the burnout process

Burnout occurs when a person has exhausted all of their physical, mental and emotional resources. There are three different degrees along which the person keeps sinking into a relentless process of overexertion.

Even though burnout seems to happen suddenly, it is a syndrome, that is, a set of symptoms that gradually set in over months or even years. The person is often unaware he is subject to nervous exhaustion.

A person in burnout has consumed from within, over time. There is no longer any resource, no more energy.

In the 1980s, the American psychologist Christina Maslach and the psychiatrist Susan Jackson defined three stages in the process of burnout.

Stage 1: Exhaustion

The first stage is emotional exhaustion, both physical and mental, which implies a lack of energy, a feeling of emptiness. At this point, the person is nervously drained, no longer feels energy, only extreme fatigue which is often accompanied by other symptoms such as insomnia, mood swings, difficulty expressing emotions and focusing, a desire to isolate oneself, migraines …

During this first stage, the notion of pleasure begins to disappear. Any activity, however pleasant, seems to turn into an obligation, a chore.

Stage 2: Dehumanization

The second stage touches on the interpersonal dimension with a dehumanization of relationships. It implies the development of impersonal, detached, negative, even cynical attitudes towards people, including those closest to them. The person isolates himself, closes off all feelings. At this stage, the change in behavior usually alerts their close circle of friends and relatives. It is therefore strongly recommended that the person get help as soon as possible to slow down this death spiral.

Stage 3: Loss of bearings

The third and last stage refers to the devaluation of his work and of the person himself. At this point, the person has lost self-confidence. He has lost his bearings and questions his values ​​and skills. His perception of the world and of himself becomes as negative as it is painful and is accompanied by demeaning thoughts such as “I’m no longer good for anything …”

Depending on the person’s history and temperament, this third stage will result in a “bore out” phase, the person gives up and is not interested in anything, or a “burn in” phase, in which the person becomes hyperactive.

In both cases, the individual continues to draw on their ultimate resources and the body eventually gives up. With cortisol no longer being produced, he literally freezes. The machine explodes due to overheating! For some people it may also result in a stroke, a cardiovascular accident, even suicide.

Véronique About

Véronique

An entrepreneur and sophrologist, I graduated from CEAS in Paris and from the Sophrology Academy in Ashford, which is a member of FEPS (the Federation of Sophrology Centers), I specialized in issues of stress and burn-out. Do not hesitate to contact me, for any questions or request for support in sophrology.

Menu
My burn-out
My burn-out

Les 3 degrés dans le processus de burn-out

phase burn out

Le burn-out intervient lorsque la personne a épuisé toutes ses ressources physiques, mentales et émotionnelles. On retrouve 3 degrés différents où progressivement la personne continue à s’enfoncer dans ce processus.

Même si le burn-out semble arriver soudainement c’est un syndrome, c’est-à-dire un ensemble de symptômes qui s’est installé progressivement sur des mois voire des années. La personne n’a souvent pas conscience de ce surmenage extrême.

Une personne en burn-out s’est consumée de l’intérieur, à petit feu. Il n’a plus la moindre ressource, plus d’énergie.

Dans les années 1980, la psychologue américaine Christina Maslach et la psychiatre Susan Jackson ont défini trois degrés dans le processus de burn-out.

Stade 1: L’épuisement

Le premier stade est un épuisement émotionnel autant physique que psychique et qui renvoie à un manque d’énergie, à un sentiment de vide. À ce stade, la personne est vidée nerveusement, ne ressent plus d’énergie, seulement une fatigue extrême qui s’accompagne souvent par d’autres symptômes comme des insomnies, des sautes d’humeur, des difficultés à exprimer des émotions et à se concentrer, une volonté de s’isoler, des migraines…

Lors de ce premier stade, la notion de plaisir commence à disparaître. La moindre activité aussi agréable soit-elle, semble se traduire  par une obligation, une corvée.

Stade 2: La déshumanisation

Le second stade touche à la dimension interpersonnelle avec une déshumanisation des relations. Elle renvoie au développement d’attitudes impersonnelles, détachées, négatives, voire cyniques, envers les personnes y compris celles de son entourage proche. La personne s’isole, se ferme à tout sentiment. A ce stade, le changement de comportement alerte en général les intimes. Il est alors fortement recommandé que la personne se fasse aider au plus vite pour freiner cette spirale mortifère.

Stade 3: La perte de repère

Le troisième et dernier stade renvoie à la dévalorisation de son travail et de la personne elle-même. A ce stade, la personne a perdu confiance en elle. Elle perd ses repères et remet en questions ses valeurs et ses compétences. Sa perception du monde et d’elle-même devient aussi négative que douloureuse et s’accompagne de pensées dévalorisantes du type “je ne suis plus bon à rien…”

En fonction de l’histoire et du tempérament de la personne, ce troisième stade aura pour issue le “bore out”, la personne abandonne et ne s’intéresse à plus rien, ou le “burn in” la personne déploie une hyperactivité.

Dans les deux cas, l’individu continue de puiser dans sur ses ultimes ressources et le corps fini par lâcher. Le cortisol n’étant plus produit, il est littéralement cloué sur place. Cette surchauffe fait exploser la machine ! Pour certaines personnes cela pourra se traduire aussi par un AVC, un accident cardio vasculaire, voire le suicide.

Véronique About

Véronique

Entrepreneur et sophrologue diplômée du CEAS à Paris et de la Sophrology Academy à Ashford, membre de la FEPS, je me suis spécialisée sur les problématiques de stress et de burn-out. N'hésitez pas à me contacter, pour toutes questions ou demande d'accompagnement en sophrologie.